SDCTM General Business Meeting

2.3.23

Old Business

- 1) Review/Approve previous minutes Dan/Chris unanimously approved
- 2) Treasurer's Report (Berglund) unanimously approved
 - a) Balance 2.4.22 \$34149.24
 - b) Balance 2.3.23 \$34188.46
- 3) Newsletter (Schander)
 - a) Still being published quarterly.
 - b) Encourage submissions of articles. Publication is open to the membership body
- 4) Media (Kreie)
 - a) Twitter 122 followers
 - b) Facebook 72 member
- 5) Website (Kroon)
 - a) Let Cindy know if there is anything new that should be posted

New Business

- 1) 2024 Conference Featured Speakers
 - a) Discussed possible names to reach out to for next year's conference
- 2) PAEMST (Hogie)
 - a) 38 nominations
 - b) 3 applications currently submitted
 - c) Encourage others to nominate and apply
- 3) DOE Report
 - a) No DOE member present to report
- 4) Daktronics Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Award (Van Peursem)
 - a) Brittany Green was this year's winner
 - b) Streamlined process to encourage more applications
 - c) Fewer applications received this year than previous years
 - d) How do we promote this more?
 - i) Previously discussed: DOE listserv, Zebra, DOE newsletter, Send info to administration for nominations, promote in SDMath SDSci group
 - ii) New discussion: Encourage others to apply
- 5) Professional Development (McQuade)
 - a) 2023 SDCTM Summer Symposium
 - i) Ideas for topics/presenters
 - (1) Chris Larson has agreed to present on Building Thinking Classrooms
 - ii) Dakota Wesleyan is the location
 - (1) Discussion on dates and potential conflicts
 - (2) July 11th was the decided date
- 6) Membership (Berglund)
 - a) Discussion about forgoing the printed membership card unanimous approval
 - b) Discussion about lifetime membership tabled the discussion for now
- 7) SDCTM Executive Board Elections (Van Peursem)
 - a) Elected Position:
 - i) President: Dan Van Peursem

- ii) Vice President: Mark Kreie iii) President Elect: Sharon Vestal
- iv) Secretary: Amy Schander v) Treasurer: Jay Berglund vi) NCTM: Susan Gilkerson
- b) Appointed Position:
 - i) Social Media: Stephanie Higdonii) Secondary Liaison: Jennifer Haar
 - iii) Newsletter Editor: Amy Schander
 - iv) Webmaster: Cindy Kroon
 - v) Elementary Liaison: Jodi Neugebauer
 - vi) Middle School Liaison: Allison Schmidt
 - vii) Post Secondary Liaison: Chris Larson
- 8) Motion to adjourn unanimous approval