South Dakota Council of Teachers of Mathematics: Working to Improve Mathematics Education for All Students


Contact Officers
Annual Conference
Math Links
Presidential Awards
Professional Development
Meeting Minutes
SDCTM History
SD Content Standards
Site Map


Updated 01/12/2022


  • 2022 Daktronics Outstanding Mathematics Teacher award application (application deadline Dec. 1)

    • Completed Daktronics applications will be kept on file for 3 years from the date of original submission. (Please keep email contact info updated)

    • After 3 years, applicants must complete and submit a new application to be considered.


Research Experience for Teachers

For any high school teachers of STEM disciplines at schools in South Dakota, see the Space Grant “Research Experience for Teachers” (RET) award application guidelines on The link to the guidelines is toward the bottom of our Fellowship page at:



Thomas V. Durkin, CPG

Deputy Director

South Dakota Space Grant Consortium

SD School of Mines & Technology

501 E. Saint Joseph Street

Rapid City, SD 57701


Phone: (605) 394-1975

Fax: (605) 394-3366






Grant Title: Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
Organization: National Science Foundation
Eligibility: Grades K-12 math or science teachers (K-6 and 7-12 in alternate years)
Value: Up to 108 awards of $10,000 each
Deadline: passed
Each year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding mathematics and science teachers by bestowing upon them the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Awards are given to teachers in each state and four U.S. jurisdictions, including Washington, D.C.; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense Schools; and the U.S. territories (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands). The PAEMST program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. The 2007 PAEMST program will honor 7th thru 12th-grade mathematics and science teachers. Each awardee receives a $10,000 award from NSF and gifts from a broad range of donors. Awardees and their guests are honored during events that take place in Washington, D.C., over the course of a week-long celebration. These events include an awards ceremony, celebratory receptions and banquets, and professional development programs.



Contact Webmaster           SDCTM is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics           CCSSM