South Dakota Council of Teachers of Mathematics: Working to Improve Mathematics Education for All Students

Contact Officers
Annual Conference
Math Links
Presidential Awards
Professional Development
Meeting Minutes
SDCTM History
SD Content Standards
Site Map


Updated 06/02/2023 

Building Thinking Classrooms

July 11, 2023
Presenter:  Dr. Christine Larson
SDCTM Post Secondary Liaison & SDSU Math Professor

Learn about 14 practices that can transform your classroom. Peter Liljedahl’s book “Building Thinking
Classrooms in Mathematics, Grades K-12” describes 14 factors that emerged from research in over 40
classrooms. Implementing these practices can help you build a thinking classroom. Discover how and
why these changes are so transformative. Participants will work in a professional learning community,
with opportunities to hear from teachers that have successfully implemented many of these practices
and to ask questions about that implementation.

Location:  DWU Campus, Mitchell, SD
Registration:  $60 for Members, $120 for non-members
Questions about registration?  Contact or
DWU Credit will be available for an additional fee.  You will pay for it separately and will pay DWU directly.

Register at

Don't delay - Registration closes June 10. Registration will be limited to 30.
Encourage your friends to join you.  A minimum of 15 registrants will be needed in order for us to hold the symposium.  

All participants will receive a free copy of Peter Liljedahl's book, "Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics."

More information and registration links

Announcement/flyer(pdf)     Syllabus (docx)



Not a member (yet)? All you have to do is join!

You may join when you register for the symposium and then qualify for membership rates. Please use the symposium registration form to join instead of the form on the SDCTM website.

The SDCTM membership year is from February 1 through January 31 of the following year. Dues are not pro-rated from time of joining.


Contact Webmaster           SDCTM is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics           CCSSM